SNP wins by-election in Airdrie and Shotts

SNP wins by-election in Airdrie and Shotts called after sitting MP opted to swap Westminster for the same seat in Holyrood

Anum Qaisar-Javed was elected with 10,129 votes, ahead of Labour’s candidateKenneth Stevenson came in second with 8,372 votes. Tory candidate got 2,812

SNP leader and Scottish First Minister Nicola Sturgeon sent her congratulations 

The SNP has won the Airdrie and Shotts by-election, with Anum Qaisar-Javed returned as the new MP for the area.

Ms Javed came in first in the contest, which was sparked by the resignation of MP Neil Gray, who has now swapped Westminster for Holyrood after last week being elected as the MSP for the corresponding seat in the Scottish Parliament.

She polled 10,129 votes, ahead of Labour candidate and local councillor Kenneth Stevenson who came in second with 8,372 votes.

Next Page